Snare Jury 2018




Professor at the FRANZ LISZT Hochschule für Musik in Weimar, Germany. Markus Leoson is an internationally sought-after solo percussionist. He also gives master classes at music colleges and festivals. He has appeared as a soloist (also in radio and television) around Scandinavia, Europe and Asia and he has performed with orchestras as St. Petersburg Philharmonics, Swedish Radio Orchestra, Stockholm Philharmonics, Oslo Philharmonics, Tampere Symphony Orchestra, Icelandic Symphony Orchestra, Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra and many others.

more about Markus Leoson
Marinus Komst


Born in Amsterdam in 1952, Marinus Komst studied trumpet and timpani at the Conservatory of Amsterdam with his grandfather, Marinus Komst (solo-trumpet Royal Concertgebouworchestra) and timpani with Jan Labordus (solo-timpani Royal Concertgebouworchestra). In 1971, he started his timpani career as timpanist in the orchestra of Friesland (north of Holland) and in 1991 became solo-simpanist of the Royal Concertgebouworchestra. Marinus has a great collection of vintage timps (70!) and plays Adams drums (calfo) and original Schnellar pedal drums (1910). His hobbies are fishing for big pikes and restoring old timpani.

more about Marinus Komst


Eckhard Kopetzki music and physics at the University of Osnabrück and the Music College in Würzburg. He is well known for his compositions for both the elementary education sector and for concerts, as well as various chamber music compositions. In 2002 he won the 1st prize in the PAS (Percussive Arts Society) composition contest for his set – up solo „Canned Heat“ ; in 2003 he won the 1st prize with his solo for marimba „Three Movements for a Solo Dancer“.

more about Eckhard Kopetzki